Review: Marvel Unlimited App

11 Mar
Marvel's logo, circa 1990s

Marvel’s logo, circa 1990s (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have had a Marvel Unlimited subscription for a little over 2 years now.  It has been a useful companion on many a business trip.  The service itself is fantastic.  Through the Marvel Unlimited membership you get access to a massive amount of back-issues.  I have been able to read stories and arcs that would be impossible due to a lack of the comics to buy or the sheer price. 

The new app is exciting for anyone who has enjoyed the service over the years.  It only makes sense to be able to access these older issues (as well as some new ones!).  I have actually started reading some books as a result….I am looking at you Guardians of the Galaxy.  Now that I have the app though, my excitement has turned to frustration!

The Good:

  • Library Card System – You can download up to 6 comics at anyone one time to read ‘off-line’.  Perfect for travelling when a signal is hard to pick up!
  • My Library – You can create read lists and earmark books you want to read. 
  • Mobile Access – No need to log in using the laptop/PC.  Let’s be real, I don’t typically want to hunker down to my computer to read comics!

The Bad:

  • Off-line – I haven’t been able to get the off-line portion to work yet!  I was extremely excited to hop on the tube this saturday and have some books to read during my normal errands.  Unfortunately, the Marvel Unlimited App just looked back at me…
  • Viewer – The online version of the viewer is fantastic.  It similar to the Comixology/Marvel/DC paid-for app, but better.  Probably because it is through a normal internet connection on a larger screen.  The Marvel Unlimited App viewer is less than stellar.  It wasn’t intuitive and I had a hard time reading the dialogue.  

The Marvel Unlimited App has some work to do before it is a go-to place to catch Spiderman, Captain America, Hulk, or Squirrel Girl (if that’s your thing!).  The bright side is that Marvel Comics continues to find new ways to engage with it’s user base.  Where I am frustrated at the app today, I am pleased they are pushing the envelope and trying to bring me more ways to enjoy my capes!

Leave a Reply

